2017RECOGNITION OF EXCELLENCE HotelsCombined
8.8Rated by guests
Victoria Falls Guest House has just been awarded the 2017 Recognition of Excellence by HotelsCombined!

“We are thrilled to be working with the best hotels in Canada and Victoria Falls Guest House is certainly among them” said Alberto Castellucchio, market manager of HotelsCombined Canada “What is different about the Recognition of Excellence is the way information is gathered and analyzed: it all depends on the guest and his or her experience with that particular accommodation.”

“With HotelsCombined 30 million people are finding the best deal available on-line every month. With this award, we’d like to make it even easier for every traveller to identify the best hotel for customer service and therefore the best value for their money”.


“That quaint home away from home place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012
The three of us absolutely enjoyed our stay in the Victoria suite. It was spacious and very clean, and felt warm and welcoming, with all the comforts of home. The front garden of the guest house was beautiful, and the scent of roses and lavender welcomed us every morning, when we ventured outside on our walks to the core of Nelson. Parking was convenient, and the guest house was quiet and restful. Cathy Ann was very professional, friendly and welcoming, and a pleasure to chat with. We could not have asked for better. We would recommend this little gem to anyone.


“What a charming place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012
My boyfriend and I spent the night in the Verandah Suite for our anniversary and were absolutely thrilled! The entire place was charming and we were beyond happy with our room, especially since the price was so great! The room was fully equipped and very inviting.The Guesthouse is right in downtown so we could easily walk just about anywhere we wanted to go.
We also ran in to Cathy-Ann and Kelly on our way to dinner and are so glad we did, they were such a nice couple. They gave us some ideas on where to eat (and where not to eat.) We took their advice and were very please with everywhere we went.
Next time we are in Nelson we will definitely stay at Victoria Falls Guesthouse again!

Thanks Cathy-Ann and Kelly!!


“The Victoria Falls Guest House was great!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011
We totally enjoyed our stay in the Baker Suite of this guest house.There were 3 of us and we were very comfortable. It is a large 4 suite heritage home, so it is old, but very nicely updated, renewed, decorated and maintained–the “old” is beautiful and adds to the great character of this home.It is centrally located and a simple walk to all the conveniences of down town Nelson.We used the bar b q on the side verandah for several meals, and made good use of the small but functional kitchen area. The owner does not live on site, but was readily available to greet us and help with any of our requests.We will definitely stay at this guest house again and highly recommend it.

Stayed February 2011, travel


“Great location and very helpful owners running the guesthouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2011
We were very pleasantly surprised at the space we had, better than the photographs indicated and the view out onto Falls Road was very pleasant. We had no problems with the beds, perfectly fine and quite liked the eclectic mix of furniture and the period character of the building. The heating was if anything too much and we often had to open a window to cool down a bit. The WiFi worked very well and a smallish television was fine by us ,we weren’t there to spend time in front of a screen.
The kitchenette is well equipped but there was no cooker than than a small combination unit that is a bit small. We cooked the turkey for Christmas at our son’s digs in town. On site washing machine and tumble driers were very useful.
The location is excellent as it is so close to the town centre and avoids one having to take a car to get there.
The owner came to decorate the house with Christmas light and tree which was nice to have.
He also reduced our bill as we were delayed coming over from Europe and did not arrive until a day later than planned and booked. We did not expect that but it was welcome as it is not the cheapest 12 days accommodation we have stayed in.
The only real issue was the snowplows that come around at between 4.30 and 06.30 with reversing warning bleepers going which woke us up but that is outside the control of the guesthouse.

Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple


“This is the Jewel of the Slocan Valley”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010
Absolutely stunning setting, a beautifully kept Victorian Guest house. The four of us girls had plenty of room and then some!!! Within walking distance to the best restaurants, shops and entertainment. Beautiful wrap around deck wonderful for enjoying morning coffee or a sunset. Thanks so much for a wonderful stay and we will certainly be back!!!

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends


the-Baker-Suite  the-Baker-Suite